Part of the glossary definition from the Episcopal Church website for “vestry” is “the legal representative of the parish with regard to all matters pertaining to its corporate property.” However, we feel that even more than legal representative, the vestry is a ministry team acting on behalf of and leading the other members of the parish.

The St. Chad’s vestry is comprised of nine member, each of whom serve three-year terms. Each year, three members retire while three new members are elected. Each vestry member is the chair or liaison for a major ministry area of the church: leading the vestry, membership, stewardship, outreach, building and grounds, worship, fellowship, communications and Christian education committees. Two of the vestry members have further designations: senior and junior warden. Again from the Episcopal Church glossary, “the senior warden leads the parish between rectors and is a support person for the rector.” The junior warden also meets with the senior warden and rector about church business, but also heads up one of the committees. “The basic responsibilities of the vestry are to help define and articulate the mission of the congregation; to support the church’s mission by word and deed, to select the rector, to ensure effective organization and planning, and to manage resources and finances.” We are lucky to have our vestry members dedicated, hard-working service to our congregation.

In addition to the vestry, a treasurer and a clerk attend the vestry meetings. These other two important positions act to support the work of the vestry, managing the finances and recording the meeting minutes.

New members are elected each January during the church’s annual meeting. If you feel called to serve in such a capacity, please contact the current senior or junior warden for more information.

The 2019 vestry members and their areas of responsibility are shown below. E-mail contact information for each member is also listed below.

Member, Committee

Father Jeremiah C. Griffin, Rector
9624 Peralta NE
Albuquerque, NM 87109
432 638-4195 505 856-9200 (office #)              [email protected]

Mother Jan Hosea, Associate Rector
537 Pinon Creek SE
Albuquerque, NM 87123
505 250-1610 (cell #)  505 856-9200 (office #)        [email protected]

Sue Casarez, Senior Warden 
847 Llave Lane NE
Albuquerque, NM 87122
505 883-1131   [email protected]

Betty Wilson,  Junior Warden/Building & Grounds Committee
12009 Caribou NE
Albuquerque, NM 87111
505 250-4127   [email protected]

Cindy Frost, Treasurer 
10813 Fairbanks NE
Albuquerque, NM 87112
505 239-1776 (cell #) 505-293-4898 (home # )
[email protected]            [email protected] (work email address)

Andrea Cobb, Outreach Committee
13122 Marble Ave NE
Albuquerque, NM 87112
505 350-9999  505 200-9956 (cell #)      [email protected]

John Turney, Worship Committee
11400 San Rafael Ave NE
Albuquerque, NM 87122
505 463-2035         [email protected]

Kiley Wiemeri, Christian Formation
12712 Northern Sky NE
Albuquerque, NM 87111
505 715-0131         [email protected]

Jamie Steele, Communications Committee
1120 Cuatro Cerros Trail SE          
Albuquerque, NM 87123
505 803-4186          [email protected]

Larry Kincaid, Membership Committee
13408 Hidden Valley NE
Albuquerque, NM 87111
505 604-6936          [email protected]

Jo Degener, Fellowship Committee
6001 Moon NE #2414
Albuquerque, NM 87111
505 503-2721         [email protected]

Rosalie Rice, no Committee Assignment
504 Kally Court NE
Albuquerque, NM 87123
505 501-1059   505 200-9956 (cell #)   [email protected]

Leslie Garland, Clerk of the Vestry
11503 Modesto Avenue NE        
Albuquerque, NM 87111
[email protected]

St. Chad’s Bylaws

A copy of the St. Chad’s Bylaws with amendments as of January 31, 2017 can be found here.